Weeks 15+16 PLUS Scones+Cookies!

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

The quote is a nod to the SoS (read on)…

;

I had to have a quick check as I actually couldn’t remember when I last updated!

…Again a missed week! Sorry!

…Again fabulous and awful.

Awful – Have been quite poorly sick with a nasty cold past 4 days, on the mend now but was pretty horrible.

Fabulous – Whilst I was ill I actually stuck to diet-ish, but showed control in decisions I made.

The end result is that I lost 2lb! (16TH) Very pleased with that :-)

;

I think a good part of my success ‘this week’ was helped by my reading my affirmation passages, as I said I would, whilst on the stairbiatch each am!

VERY pleased with myself that I started this successful action, must keep it up eh?!

The plan to exercise 7 days, twice on weekdays, once a day at w/e’s, was a good one, and started out well.

I did a VERY heavy leg session on ‘the’ Saturday, lost off now (3rd) and then shoulders on the Sunday (4th), having done chest on the Thursday (1st), then hit back on the Tuesday (6th) legs having recovered.

But it had all started to go a bit ‘pete tong’ on Monday 5th when I slept funny and really twinged my neck, I thought I’d got away with the back WO, but I never recovered and it’s coming and going stiff even now.

So I took the w/e of 10th+11th off as I daren’t even lift plates onto the bar to squat even if nothing wrong with legs!

I then got my act together and iced neck, which helped a LOT and continued with a cardio only ‘week’; 30mins stairbiatch+10mins dreadmill am+pm, Mon-Wed.

I managed Mon-Wed (12th-14th) before I had to admit defeat with a ridiculously sore throat! FFS! :-(

But I am soOo pleased with myself that I made healthier choices whilst ill. I normally say fuck it to everything, but this time I thought, no, I’m being good in resting to give my body a fighting chance, why fuck it up with bad nutrition?!

2 curries did make an appearance; once on Thurs 8th and again on Mon 19th, to deal with constipation as a result of substantial painkiller use, it did the trick beautifully!

So haven’t worked out for a week. Did some chores after work last night and plan a good spring clean tonight to build back into it. Then a cardio week for restov week; 30mins stairbiatch+10mins dreadmill am+pm, Wed-Fri.

I’m off to ‘urr-dressers Sat, booked appt. with intention of hitting gym before-hand but the way things have worked out I’m gonna have a lie in/day off/rest and then hit legs Sun – fricking DOMS again having not string 2 weeks together in months, FFS!

Then I can, fingers crossed, get back to some kind of normal next week!?

;

Otherwise I have stuck to the below diet Mon-Fri:

Wake: 1/2L Water

PreAM Cardio: L-Carnitine+GreenT extract (just cos I have it to use up, it’s foul!) + coffee

During/Post AM Cardio: 1L Water

Breakki: 2 whole eggs made up to 150ml with egg whites scrambled+7 slices BernardMatthewsWaterThinHam+Dash French’s Mustard + Tea + MultiVits

1/2L Water

Meal 2: 150g Cauliflower Mash+150g WhiteFish*

1/2L Water

Lunch: 125g SweetPotato made into soup+150g Chkn

1/2L Water

Meal 4: 150g Cauliflower Mash+150g WhiteFish

During WO 1L Water

Immediate Post WO: 25g-ish ProteinShake (both weights and cardio only session, it helps with my blood sugar/appetite regulation)

30mins Post WO: 1/2L water with 1/2Tsp CalMag & 1/2Tsp L-Glutamine

Meal 6: 150g Cauliflower Mash+150g LeanMince+GreenVeg+Can PepsiMax

*NOTE: Do NOT add french’s to cauli mash, bleurghh! Can’t wait to get this batch outov way!

;

The shake post each & every WO is working well, as is the diet, not hungry and sticking to it!

It’s in line with The Smarter Science of Slim (SSoS), using vegetables as carb sources and cutting all refined carbs, keeping protein high with moderate fats. Some fruit is allowed but more berries and citrus than higher carb choices. If you haven’t already I STRONGLY URGE you to go check out the podcasts: http://thesmarterscienceofslim.com/jonathan-bailors-smarter-science-of-slim-podcast/

;

The diet went a little astray at the w/e whilst ill but I made better SANEr choices (as per SSoS). The podcast co host Carrie Brown has a great website where she posts LOTS of fabulous SANE recipes: http://www.marmaladeandmileposts.com/meet-the-foodie 2 of which I tired at the w/e, I surprisingly became a domestic goddess whilst ill!

;

Cheesy Scones (Biscuits)

Author: Carrie Brown – SANEified from her mother’s recipe

Prep time: 10 mins

Cook time: 10 mins

Total time: 20 mins

Serves: 8 – 10

Ingredients

  • 9 oz almond flour (NOT almond meal)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsps baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthum gum (you can omit this, but the texture will not be as good)
  • 2 oz butter
  • 2 oz strong cheddar cheese, finely grated
  • 1/3 cup milk + milk to glaze

Instructions

  • Heat oven to 425 F.
  • Put the almond flour, other dry ingredients and butter in a food processor and pulse until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. You can also do this by hand if that’s your thing.
  • Turn into a bowl and mix in the cheese until evenly distributed.
  • Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the milk.
  • Mix by hand to form a dough. it will be a little sticky.
  • Using almond flour to dust the surface, knead the dough lightly until smooth.
  • Roll out the dough to 3/4 inch thick.
  • Cut out biscuits using a round or fluted cutter.
  • Gather up the trimmings into a ball, re-roll and cut remaining dough into rounds.
  • Place the scones on a baking sheet.
  • Brush tops with milk.
  • Bake for 8 – 10 minutes until golden brown.

These were soOO ridiculously easy!

If you mix by hand, make sure hands are cold, run em under cold water, else butter will melt/mix will stick more.

I didn’t have a cutter, so I just divided roughly into balls and flattened into scone-ish shapes! Worked just fine.

Mine needed more like 20mins.

;

Frickin D-licious! Thank You Carrie!

;

Dark Chocolate Espresso Cookies

Author: Carrie Brown

Prep time: 15 mins

Cook time: 12 mins

Total time: 27 mins

Serves: 20

Ingredients

  • 300g unsweetened chocolate (100% cocoa)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (57g)
  • 70 g almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 300g Xylitol or Erythritol (NOT Stevia or similar)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder

Instructions

  • Pre-heat over to 325 F.
  • Place chocolate and coconut oil in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water.
  • Stir occasionally until the two are completely melted together.
  • Leave to cool.
  • In a bowl, using a hand mixer (or in a stand mixer) beat the eggs, Xylitol / Erythritol, vanilla and espresso powder together on high for about 5 minutes until the mixture is pale and thick.
  • Stir in the cooled chocolate mixture until evenly mixed.
  • Stir in the almond flour, baking powder, xanthum gum and salt until completely mixed. It will start to stiffen as you mix it.
  • Leave the cookie dough aside while you line baking sheets with aluminium foil.
  • The mixture will stiffen. When it is stiff enough to handle, using your hands, roll dough into balls slightly smaller than a golf ball.
  • Place the balls on the lined baking sheets, about 2 inches apart, and flatten the balls until they are about 2 1/2 inches across.
  • Bake on the top shelf of the oven for 10 – 12 minutes, turning half way through the baking time. They will look dry, but will be still be soft in the centre when they are done.
  • Remove from the oven and leave on the baking sheet for 10 minutes until the foil and cookies are cool enough to touch.
  • Lift the edge of the foil up and over with one hand so that you can peel it away from the cookies as they fall into your other hand.
  • These are rather more fragile than regular cookies, so this method means you will get the cookies off successfully.
  • Place on a cooling rack to cool completely.

Notes: You cannot use Stevia to replace the Xylitol or Erythritol because you need the bulk and it’s other properties, not just the sweetening effect.

;

Not quite so easy peasey, not difficult, just abit more faffing.

Never made cookies before so didn’t know what to expect.

The mixture doesn’t look like it will ‘start to stiffen’ as it’s not a lot of almond flour to add, but it totally does!

I found the balls abit sticky to handle *that’s what she said ;-)* so used two spoons to forms ball-ish shapes on baking tray, worked fine.

Again, more like 20mins cooking time for me & I did NOT attempt to turn half way through, or did she mean tray & not cookies?!

The texture is more cake/brownie like than cookie like, but EXTREMELY FRICKIN NOM!

;

Ooo, also…I had an email from the loverley people at ME (Metabolic Effect): http://www.metaboliceffect.com/ on how to best look after yourself, more naturally, when you have a cold…

Prob a second post eh…tomorrow – will also post some links for you UK guys of where to get ingredients.

;

:-) xx

One thought on “Weeks 15+16 PLUS Scones+Cookies!

Leave a Reply

