Week 8 – Derail, brain dump & back to sanity!

WTF!!??!! I lost 1.5lb, but haven’t exercised or stuck to diet!??!

Breakii: 200ml Scrambled egg whites (inc. 1 whole egg) + 70g smoked salmon (Mon-Thurs, Fri-slept in so tesco brunch triple sarnie!)
Meal 2: Miso soup
Lunch: 120gChkn+M&S salad pot
Meal 4: Miso soup
Dinners: Mon; M&S Chinese meal, Tues; M&S roast duck+pancakes, Wed; Gammon+fried eggsx2+sauted potato+M&S waldorf salad pot, Thurs; Gammon+HUGE baked potato(with butter)+M&S cheesy baked mushrooms!!!

Last weekend I went on a road trip to Manchester with 4 loverley ladeezee to watch the BNBF finals.
OMFG!!!???!!! The standard was phenomenal!
There are 3 classes/categories open to the ladeezee with the BNBF:

(Open) Figure:
Competitors will be judged on the overall shape, structure and proportion of their physique.
Competitors should display an evenly balanced physique which is aesthetically pleasing and equally proportioned from the front, side and rear. In addition, an even balance between the upper and lower half of the body should be evident.
Competitors should show visible signs of strength training.
Relative leanness means a competitor should show definition without striations there should be a roundness to the muscle which accentuates the female form. There should be noticeable abdominal detail. There should be some visible lines in the quadriceps.
Very hard condition and striated muscle will be considered wrong for the class.
Winner – Julia Hubbard:

Master Figure – As above but for the over 40s (though ladies over 40 do not have to compete in this class, they can complete in open figure if they wish)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winner – Jo Perruzza

Physique:

Miss Physique is women’s bodybuilding.
Competitors will be judged on the overall shape, structure and proportion of their physique.
Competitors should display an evenly balanced physique which is aesthetically pleasing and equally proportioned from the front, side and rear. In addition, an even balance between the upper and lower half of the body should be evident.
Competitors should be judged on muscular mass relative to frame size and as such an athlete should not be penalised for appearing to be of a smaller structure than other competitors.
Competitors should display a degree of conditioning sufficient so that their muscularity is clearly evident, defined and can be properly judged.
Conditioning should not be to an extreme that it has a detrimental effect on symmetry or muscularity.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Winner – Mary Anderson

One of our group Tracy Austin was competing in the Masters Figure and came 4th!!! Well done loverley ladii, she looked freaking amazing!
Check out her story here: http://austinpersonaltraining.co.uk/?p=2130

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I competed in Physique. I had the level of muscle required but not the conditioning/leaness.
The weekend has given me a lot to think about. I usually have a wobble after watching a competition and this weekend was no exception. So I’ve taken the week off to chill, evaluate a little and re-group ready to kick arse again as of Sat.

I hanker after my competition figure, anyone who has competed knows what I mean, but I actually don’t think that’s necessarily an unrealistic goal for me to maintain long term. When I competed I had another St to lose really to be really competitive and 14-21lbs above stage weight is the recommended yo-yo, not 70+!!!
I know weight doesn’t mean anything but at fat biatch weight it does LoL! I was 9St 6lb on stage, so I’d like to get at least under 10St if not 9St 7lb.
I’m hoping I’ve gained a little muscle mass, but hard to tell until I lose a significant amount of lard eh!

 

Thoughts this week…

The dilemma is I only lost 1lb a week with previous prep and I was on VERY low cals and doing 2 hours cardio a day!??! I’m not relishing the thought of having to do that again TBH!
I certainly feel that this far out I should be able to fairly easily drop 2lb a week and still have a life?
I’m soOo happy in my life otherwise that I’m finding it difficult to go hardcore, but know that if I sucked it up I could be ‘here’ in 7months(ish), I just truly don’t think it should be so hard/require so much effort/cardio this far out?

I am an ardent fan of weekly cheat meals.
Once a week, one meal at the w/e where I have 3 courses and moderate alcohol keeps me sane, I can then be hardcore the rest of the time. But if I don’t have that cheat to look forward to, I struggle to stick to hardcore the restov the time. And as above feel that this far out I should be able to fairly easily drop 2lb a week and still have a decent cheat each week. We don’t like crap, we have good food, but like to go out for a meal and not worry about portion size and have a couple of glasses of wine/pints of beer.
The restov the time I’m happy to have a VERY repetitive strict diet, if it gets results.
I have OCD and the repetition panders to that and makes weekly food prep easier.

Most ‘people’ I talk to disagree with this!

I’m VERY happy with my weights sessions at the moment, but I am VERY confused about cardio.
My previous success was achieved with 2hrs stairbiatch am+pm(post weights). I just don’t have that drive at mo.
And I don’t want to fuck myself for next prep! (doing a lot of cardio now will condition my body to it/ it will get used to it, so that when I want it to work to get the last stone or so off, it will be difficult).
Or can I do the cardio for the losses I crave now, get to goal, then back off for 6 months to let body recover before I have to up the ante again?
So how much? Or none? I’ve not done none and just relied on diet to produce losses as that’s abit frickin scarey, you have to do loads of cardio right?
I can psychologically manage (and actually enjoy) the 20mins on stairbiatch post WO but is even that counterproductive?
The body needs to recover after weights and pushing it further with CV can be counterproductive and even hinder progress!?
But ‘most’ body builders do CV after weight so are they right or are the few who don’t onto a secret that could hold the answer?
I have my shake prior to CV after weights to help negate the negative effects, but…
Maybe I should I just do CV of a morning and none post WO, keeping the two different methods of training at separate times, which is also a recommended method of training…
…AAaaRRrrGGggHHhh!! Too many different approaches and previous success confusing me!
I certainly felt/feel now that my previous 2hours a day stairbiatch should’ve yielded better than 1lb p/wk loss?!!? And that mayb it was being counterproductive?
I am feeling ‘done’ now after my current 20mins CV post WO on the stairbiatch, psychologically satisfied that I’ve done it, soaked with sweat, but also feeling that more would be counterproductive.

Conclusions today…
I have actually lost an average of 1.5lb per week for past 8 weeks! Whish is VERY good going for me.

So whilst all the above thoughts have passed through my ikkle brain this week, I know it aint broke, so I aint gonna fix it!

Gonna clean diet up this weekend (after fish n chips tonight!) as I get to eat a LOT of carbs at the w/e anyhoo and get right back on plan next week.

I’m planning to do am cardio, walks or gym/20mins stairbiatch and 20mins stairbiatch post WOs.

I’m going to swap weigh in day to Saturday as Friday night can be a danger double cheat potential for me after weighing in Fri am.

I am moving cardio session and therefore carb free dinner to Fri pm, poss hybrid training class at Locker27; http://www.locker27.com/

Feeling better for a little break and itching to get back to gym next week!

:-)xx

7 thoughts on “Week 8 – Derail, brain dump & back to sanity!

  1. Cardio

    I did twice a day cardio 5 days a week for 4 months to lose initial 2 stone last year (sessions were 50 mins am, 20 mins pwo), went down to 45 mins x 5 per week, dropped it completely for 3 weeks then started on only 4 sessions a week(2 of them only very short again). Point is moderate cardio to get to a decent level of condition can work. You did 2 x 1 hours per day to shift 3 stone in a short amount of time, this isn’t the case right now just has to be consistent.

Leave a Reply

